Betrayer

When I bought Betrayer I had no idea what to expect. All I’d seen of the game was screenshots from the steam page showing black and white visuals with a bit of crimson thrown in, and the occasional spooky skeleton. All I could think about was “dis gon be gud”.

Betrayer is an action/adventure RPG game by the indie developer Blackpowder Games, and was released on March 24 of this year and it’s reception upon release was pretty good but not enough to make it to the big leagues.

When I first played the game I was immediately fully Immersed in the monochrome tropical world in which i’d been thrown. The black and white visuals did not only enhance the experience but did in fact make up most of it, and the atmosphere and ambiance owe most of it’s glory to that decision and the crimson colours on some of the objects within the game create a beautiful visual experience that gets you completely invested in the game.

The game play is decent but it lacks a little bit of flare to make it stand out in any way, but the simplicity of the controls make it easier to get lost in the visuals as well as the narrative, which is outstanding and has a lot to offer.

All in all I recommend the game for everyone.
“Go get it” out of 10

Leave a comment